Crafted Applique Quilt Label

Applique Quilt Label


Knowing that I have about a full month of secret sewing work in front of me, I am excited to get to blog about a small bit of a recent finish. I finished a mini quilt for a swap, and I wanted to add a label (I’m trying to be better about labeling the quilts I work on!). Pondering for a moment, I struck on what I think is a brilliant idea: I used Lara @Buzzin Bumble‘s Crafted Applique method to make the label!

Crafted Applique Quilt Label
Crafted Applique Quilt Label

Step One

Now this is the part that gets me all excited: prep fabric and then cut label into any shape you want. Write details on label, and iron down.

Crafted Applique Quilt Label
Crafted Applique Quilt Label

Step Two

Stitch label down using method of your choice. Since I had already finished the quilt, this either meant some kind of whip stitching or a large hand stitch.

Crafted Applique Quilt Label
Crafted Applique Quilt Label

Step Three

Stand back, admire your work, and photograph before adding in any details to the label that might give something away!

Congratulations to Beth T, the winner of the Crafted Applique book giveaway! There are still a few hours left in my Crafted Applique book giveaway (and the full blog hop schedule is below as well, with today’s post by my friend Kaja highlighted); it has seriously changed how I think about applique and clearly has me exploring ideas that I never thought were possible!

Linking up with Let’s Bee Social.

Crafted Appliqué: New Possibilities Blog Hop 

Sunday, May 1 – Introduce the Hop – Lara Buccella- BuzzinBumble
Monday, May 2 – Valerie Smith – Pumpkin Patch Quilter
Tuesday, May 3 – Dana Gaffney – Stormy Days
Wednesday, May 4 – Lorna McMahon – Sew Fresh Quilts
Thursday, May 5 – Mary S. – Needled Mom
Friday, May 6 – Heidi Kuntz – Red Letter Quilts
Saturday, May 7 – Alycia Carmin – Alycia Quilts
Sunday, May 8 – Amy DeCesare – Amy Made That
Monday, May 9 – Sherri McConnell – A Quilting Life
Tuesday, May 10 – Lara Buccella – Sew Mama Sew
Wednesday, May 11 – Christina Cameli – A Few Scraps
Thursday, May 12 – Melissa Corry –  Happy Quilting
Friday, May 13 – Sarah Craig – Confessions of a Fabric Addict
Saturday, May 14 – Soma Acharya – Whims and Fancies
Sunday, May 15 – Val Reynolds –  Val’s Quilting Studio
Monday, May 16 – Angela Pingel – Cut to Pieces

Tuesday, May 17 – Sandra Walker – Musings of a Menopausal Melon
Wednesday, May 18 – Cheryl Brickey – Meadow Mist Designs
Thursday, May 19 – Judy Murphy – Quilt Paradigm
Friday, May 20 – Yvonne Fuchs – Quilting Jetgirl
Saturday, May 21 – Cindy Pieters – Stitchin’ at Home
Sunday, May 22 – Susie Zlogar – Susie’s Sunroom
Monday, May 23 – Connie Kresin-Campbell – Freemotion by the River
Tuesday, May 24 – Ruth Bourke – Charly & Ben’s Crafty Corner
Wednesday, May 25 – Kaja Zieslar – Sew Slowly
Thursday, May 26 – Ann Brooks – Fret Not Yourself
Friday, May 27 – Cynthia Brunz – Quilting is More Fun Than Housework
Tuesday, May 31 – Jenn Trott-Zisserson – Quarter Inch From the Edge
Wednesday, June 1 – Paulette Horn – The Way I Sew It
Thursday, June 2 – Sandra Jansen – Studio Sew of Course
Friday, June 3 – Christine Sherman – Triangles and Squares
Saturday, June 4 – Darlene Simmons – Quilt Shop Gal
Sunday, June 5 – Announce BuzzinBumble Giveaway Winners – Lara Buccella


  • I wondered about using Lara’s technique with quilt labels, your results are fantastic! The hand stitching around the label is a great personal touch! Did you use a Sharpie for writing?

  • Brilliant Yvonne! Your label looks so sweet with those hand sewn stitches, the heart shape and your handwritten details! Crafted Applique’ is perfect for making labels!

  • As I was working on my crafted applique project, I had the same thought about great labels. I’m going to prep some label fabric in advance and have it handy. I like that it’s easy to write on. Usually I iron my label fabric to freezer paper before writing on it.

  • I have labeled about half of my quilts. I have been told to ALWAYS label. 🙂 Even though if it is a donation or for someone I don’t know well I tend to leave them off. I make little hand embroidered labels. But the applique and pen technique are a great idea, especially for those quilts that need to get out in a hurry.

  • GREAT MINDS!!! You rock Yvonne! I did a dog (or a cat!) paw label on my little cushion I made for the hop! Love the heart. What is fabulous about Lara’s method for labelling is that if you forget to put one onto the backing before you quilt the quilt (because that is the best way, safest to quilt through the label and make it really difficult to remove–I did a 10-installment post in my guild newsletter back many years ago on labels) anyhow, if you forget, which I did on the cushion, this makes it super easy doesn’t it?! And permanently there to boot.

  • This sounds like a great use of your new applique method. I really should spare a thought for a label sometimes, I don’t think I’ve ever added one, part of me feels bad for that but I have to admit part of me likes to be an anonymous quilter.

I really appreciate the time and thought you take to comment, and I look forward to conversing with you. :)